Reposting Because It’s True…

Thank you Becoming Stepmom for this post.  Hope you don’t mind that I swiped it!

Above is post from a very wise author and blogger about something that I deal with everyday: the lack of control. It is especially poignant when I look at it in terms of the other elements of my life where I had no say in what happened to me. Namely, losing my first husband and losing two pregnancies. The strain of all of this is taking its toll and I am trying desperately to not let this take me down. Life often requires that we surrender, but it doesn’t mean we have to give up.

 

“You know what you gotta do when life gets you down?
Just keep swimming
Just keep swimming
Just keep swimming swimming swimming
What do we do we swim, swim, swim
OH HO HO How I love to swim
When you WAAAAAANNTTT to swim you want to swim”
– Dory

Becoming A Stepmom

When I interviewed Dr. Paul Rosch, the president of the American Institute of Stress, he told me that when you don’t feel like you have control, you feel stress. This comes as no surprise to stepmothers everywhere. But I’ve noticed in my own life and in talking to stepmoms that we often react to this lack of control in our home lives by becoming tense and controlling over things that the research on stepfamilies tells us often result in backfiring. (Manners, cleanliness, rules, grades, food,  schedules, ex-wives, etc.)

I reacted to the stress of moving in with three children and their dad. Boy did I ever. But after a while, we found our equilibrium. I found little things I could control that made me feel more involved in the family. And I worked hard to develop a really strong marriage so I felt safe enough to let go of some…

View original post 284 more words

Leave a Reply

