Thankful Thursday: Screaming Alien Aunt Experiment Edition

It’s another Thursday, so once again I’ll do a quick rundown of things for which I’ve felt grateful in the past week.

 The Scream

News broke this week that the last privately held version of Edvard Munch’s ‘The Scream‘ will be going up for auction. One of my favorite NPR call-in shows “On Point” turned its attention to the iconic work yesterday and spent an hour – an entire HOUR – discussing the painting’s impact on culture and how it speaks to the human experience. I love that this incredible piece of art can speak to so many.  There’s something about it that’s encouraging.  It shows me that we’re not that different after all. To listen a podcast of the show click here.

My Skid

Although I use this blog to discuss the challenges of being a stepmother, I can say that I am thankful for Skid. Watching Skid when we’re out with family brings a smile to my face. There is a humor and lightness to Skid’s demeanor and flashes of sheer joy when Skid doesn’t think anyone is looking, which are heartwarming to see.  It’s just that right now there are hurdles. We’re dealing with the teen years: years when it seems like an alien has invaded your home — a sulky, moody unpredictable alien who doesn’t like to clean or hang out with parental life forms.  I had a brief glimpse into a different scenario when Hubs and I were carrying on our long-distance romance.  At age 8, Skid would take every opportunity to hug and cuddle with me on those long weekend visits.  Things seemed to change once the ring was on my finger and Skid began straddling the threshold to adolescence.  I miss those days and am grateful for them, however brief they were.  The memory of them helps to keep my love for Skid alive  and fuels the hope that down the road a path might open up to bring our family closer together.

A Realization

I realized when reviewing comments I’ve made on this blog and others that I made an error.  I’ve mentioned that I am the only woman in the family without kids of her own and completely forgot my two aunts who don’t have children of their own (one my mother’s side and another on my father’s side). Both have pretty full lives.  I’m not sure if it is because both aunts are far away in Canada that contributed to my momentary memory lapse, but I’m a little ashamed that I disregarded them.  I don’t often share my blog with family members, so I don’t think that they’ll find out (whew!). However, it dawned on me that they may be sources of inspiration and advice.

The Erin Experiment

The Erin Experiment is a great blog written by one of the contributors to “Stepmom” magazine. She blogs about all aspects of her life — from being a stepmom to her commuter marriage and all things in-between. I really like Erin’s take on things, and it often seems that she and I are going through similar things at the same time. She looks at her life in a very positive and honest perspective, which I admire. I feel like she and I are kindred spirits.  If you have a moment, go check out her blog at www.erinexperiment.com.

Love and blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

